skip navigation
Home Travel Teams House League Calendar Resources Tournaments


Summer Floor Hockey

06/13/2015, 4:15pm EDT
By Dan Coffey

DYHA will host a summer floor hockey skills series for 8-14yrs at the Dover Rink (Foster side.)  Drop in sessions will be held on Thursday nights, (starting Thursday, June 25th through August 13th, no full session commitment needed, come out when you can) at 5:30-6:55pm.  Each session will be a $10 drop in fee.  Each night will be limited to 30 players, sessions will be run by DYHA coaches.  Mandatory gear will be helmets, gloves, and sticks (all other padding is optional.)  Each night will include some stick-handling, shooting, passing, game spacing, and of course floor hockey games. Hope to see you out during the “off-season.”

2015-16 Travel Roster Openings

06/06/2015, 1:30pm EDT
By Stacey MacKinnon

DYHA has the below openings on travel rosters for the upcoming season.

There are openings for the following birth years:





Any interested participants should contact the Director of Hockey Operations as soon as possible.


2015-16 Travel Scholarships

05/30/2015, 12:45pm EDT
By Kim Fuller

The DYHA Board of Directors approved a budget that includes limited scholarships for travel players. During the next month, the following four types of scholarships may be awarded, provided we have applicants for each:

Kathleen and Fred Gilpatrick Bingo Volunteer Scholarship
Kathy Gilpatrick is the original and current DYHA Bingo Coordinator, She and her husband Fred have been instrumental in creating this incredible fundraising arm of the DYHA organization. Prior to her involvement in Bingo, Kathy was a DYHA board member, serving as treasurer and making her name as Dover Hockey’s most effective fundraising coordinator. Gilpatrick Scholarships of up to $400 may be awarded to current Dover Youth Hockey Bingo volunteers to help further reduce their tuition obligations.

McNulty Sibling Scholarships
Pat McNulty was a longtime member and president of DYHA who was instrumental in developing our house and travel programs. Pat was also the original driving force behind creating the Dover Youth Hockey Bingo fundraising program, which helps control costs for all members. Pat and his wife Lorraine raised two children who both played travel and high school hockey. They know what it means to have two children enrolled in travel hockey at the same time, and the time and financial demands placed on a family by two children’s hockey commitments. Pat currently works for the City of Dover. Both Pat and Lorraine McNulty have been named honorary members of DYHA by the Dover Youth Hockey board of directors. McNulty Sibling Scholarships will be awarded to children of families with more than one child playing travel hockey. Amounts may vary depending on need and the resources available.

Robert “Pops” Higgins Scholarships
A Higgins Scholarship will award between $250 and $1000 to families in need to help reduce the cost of travel hockey. A lifelong hockey fan, Bob Higgins has been a fixture as a volunteer at Dover Youth Hockey Bingo for more than a decade. During that time, he has quietly helped many families manage the cost of hockey. Bob’s greatest hope is that all children are able to experience the great game of hockey, regardless of their families’ circumstances. Bob Higgins has been named an honorary member of DYHA by the Dover Youth Hockey Board of Directors.

Frederick Catalfo Referee Scholarship
Freddy Catalfo is well known to anyone who has ever spent time at Dover Arena. In addition to working the front desk and as a referee, Freddy has worked as DYHA’s referee scheduler for many years. Freddy Catalfo has been named an honorary member of DYHA by the Dover Youth Hockey board of directors. One Catalfo Scholarship of $200 will be awarded each year to a travel hockey player who is also a USAHockey certified referee. This award will be made in the form of travel tuition reduction in recognition of the additional investment young referees make in training and referee equipment and uniforms.

If you have a travel hockey player who you believe may qualify for one of these scholarships, please send an email response to WE ARE NOT looking for your income or financial details, except for that information you chose to furnish. What we DO want is a brief description of your player and the relevant details by which he or she qualifies for one of the above scholarships (e.g., you are a Bingo volunteer, your family has siblings playing hockey, your child is a certified referee, or your family simply has financial need. Any information you can give that will help our scholarship committee consider your request is welcome.

All responses must be received by July 1st. Awards will be determined by mid-August. Scholarship amounts will be credited to account balances.

DYHA Approves Major/Minor Team Name Change

05/15/2015, 8:30pm EDT
By Board of Directors

Dover Youth Hockey Association has approved the proposed name change of the Major/Minor travel teams, (Birth years 2001-2008) to the Granite State Wild. This change will only include the DYHA Major/Minor teams. The DYHA Select and House League teams will remain under the identity of the Dover Stars. DYHA has a storied history offering competitive youth hockey opportunities to the youth of Dover and the greater seacoast NH and Maine areas. We view the Granite State Wild as an exciting new chapter for Dover Youth Hockey Association.

The Granite State Wild teams will compete in the Massachusetts Premier Development Hockey League (MPDHL). They will compete against organizations located primarily in the greater Boston area, as well as Rhode Island and Connecticut. Parity rounds will be played at the beginning of the season, where each Wild team will have the chance to compete in the highest division of the MPDHL. DYHA is optimistic that all of the Wild teams will be playing in the highest level of the MPDHL in 2015-16 and beyond, offering the highest level of competition available.

The goal for the change is to continue growth within the organization, both by attracting new players and continuing to develop and retain the current players already participating within the organization. We have seen tremendous progress with the level of play within DYHA over the past few years, at all levels, and look forward to the continued growth of DYHA thru the Granite State Wild and Dover Stars.

DYHA Annual Meeting

05/14/2015, 7:15pm EDT
By Board of Directors

DYHA to host Annual Meeting May 28th at the McConnell Center.

DYHA will host the Organization's Annual meeting May 28th at the McConnell Center in Dover, NH 6:30pm.  (meeting to be held in the café downstairs and there will be signs)  Staying consistent with the DYHA by-laws, (Article VI, Section 2) the board will host the meeting to current, past, and future members and encourages you to attend. 

Upcoming Games

Tue 6/30 Wed 7/1 Thu 7/2 Fri 7/3 Sat 7/4

no events

no events

no events

no events

no events

Upcoming Practices

No upcoming events found.